Tennessee Handgun Carry Information
Note: The information provided here is current as of May 2006. As a user of this site you understand and accept that we provide this information as a courtesy and though we will diligently work to keep this information current, it may change without notice and therefore we can not and will not be held responsible for recently outdated information.
|It is up to you, the responsible firearms owner in Tennessee to know the laws of this state. For more information on the law you may go to Tennessee.gov|
|Q. I want to get a handgun carry permit in the State of Tennessee. What to I need to do? A. To obtain a handgun carry permit in Tennessee, you must first complete a handgun safety course offered by a handgun safety school that is certified by the Department of Safety. Upon successful completion of the course you will receive a certificate.You should then obtain a handgun carry permit application from any driver license station. Although the application is available at all stations and all stations now process the applications, the one(s) in your home county would be the best place to start.Once you complete the application, return it to any of the driver’s license stations.Bring with you the original copy of your safety course completion certificate, $115 for the permit fee, a valid photo I.D. and a certified copy of your birth certificate or a current U.S. passport. This fee must be paid in cash or with a certified check.
You will be given a document with a phone number on it to set up an appointment with Identex or some such company that takes electronic fingerprints for the state and which sends said fingerprints to the FBI for a check. You must call ahead of time to schedule an appointment with these people as they schedule their employees by the number of appointments that they have set up in an area. It can take as little as 3-4 days or as long as three weeks to get an appointment. Don’t ask why. Don’t argue. Don’t gripe. Just do it
If there are no problems with the application and you meet all eligibility requirements and the Sheriff’s office and the FBI verify that you are not a wanted or convicted felon you then you should receive your permit within 90 days of the date you submit your application.
The following items can be obtained at from the Tennessee Department of Safety.
From the desk of the Better Late Than Never Department:
Effective July 1, 2005, all new handgun permit applicants must provide proof of U.S. Citizenship (as mentioned above) or Lawful Permanent Residency unless such applicant has already provided this proof and it is documented on their driver license record.
Q. How do I renew my permit?
A. Your handgun carry permit will expire four (4) years from the date it is issued.
Renewals can be submitted up to six (6) months prior to the expiration date. Any person whose handgun carry permit expires and such person applies for a renewal within six (6) months from the date of expiration, such person shall only be required to comply with the renewal provisions. However, you may not lawfully carry a weapon until you receive a new permit.
If the renewal application is filed six (6) months or more from the date of expiration, such person shall, for all purposes, be considered a new applicant.
The fee is $50.00. A background check will be conducted on all renewal applicants. A new permit will be mailed from the Central Handgun Permit Office. Permit Holders may legally carry with the receipt provided from the application.
A permit holder can submit a Renewal Application at any Driver License Center or renew by mail. Applications may be downloaded or, to receive a renewal application by mail call (615) 251-8590.
Complete and sign your application. Mail the application and the $50.00 fee payable by check or money order to the following address:
Tennessee Department of Safety
Incomplete applications cannot be processed.
Q. I just moved to Tennessee from another state what do I need to do to continue to carry legally like I did in my previous home state?
A. If a person with a handgun permit from another state decides to become a resident of Tennessee, such person must obtain a Tennessee handgun permit within six (6) months of establishing residency in Tennessee. Such permit may be issued based on the person having a permit from another state provided such other state has substantially similar permit eligibility requirements as this state. However, if during such six (6) month period the person applies for a handgun permit in this state and such application is denied, the person shall not be allowed to carry a handgun in this state based upon the other state’s permit.
If a person who is a resident of and handgun permit holder in another state is employed in this state on a regular basis and desires to carry a handgun in this state, such person shall have six (6) months from the last day of the sixth month of regular employment in this state to obtain a Tennessee handgun carry permit. Such permit may be issued based on the person having a permit from another state provided such other state has substantially similar permit eligibility requirements as this state. However, if during such six (6) month period the person applies for a handgun permit in this state and such application is denied, the person shall not be allowed to carry a handgun in this state based upon the other state’s permit.
The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply if the state of residence of the person employed in Tennessee has entered into a handgun permit reciprocity agreement with this state pursuant to this subsection.
As used in this subdivision, “employed in this state on a regular basis” means a person has been gainfully employed in this state for at least thirty (30) hours a week for six (6) consecutive months not counting any absence from employment caused by the employee’s use of sick leave, annual leave, administrative leave or compensatory time.
Q. Where can I not carry a handgun in the state of Tennessee?
A. It is an offense for a person to possess a firearm:·
Q. Can stores, businesses etc. prohibit me from carrying my handgun on their premises?
A. Yes, TCA. does provide for what it terms as a prohibition at certain meetings but makes it clear that there is an accepted method of notifying the gun owner so that you will not be ambushed into violating the law. It says in part:
An individual, corporation, business entity or local, state or federal government entity or agent thereof is authorized to prohibit the possession of weapons by any person otherwise authorized by § 39-17-1351 – § 39-17-1360, at meetings conducted by, or on property owned, operated, or managed or under the control of such individual, corporation, business entity or government entity. Notice of such prohibition shall be posted. Posted notices shall be displayed in prominent locations, including all entrances primarily used by persons entering the building, portion of the building or buildings where weapon possession is prohibited. If the possession of weapons is also prohibited on the premises of any such property as well as within the confines of a building located on such property, the notice shall be posted at all entrances to the premises that are primarily used by persons entering the property. The notice shall be in English but a notice may also be posted in any language used by patrons, customers or persons who frequent the place where weapon possession is prohibited. In addition to the sign, notice may also include the international circle and slash symbolizing the prohibition of the item within the circle. The sign shall be of a size that is plainly visible to the average person entering the building, premises or property and shall contain language substantially similar to the following:
Pursuant to § 39-17-1359 , the owner/operator of this property has banned weapons on this property, or within this building or this portion of this building. Failure to comply with this prohibition is punishable as a criminal act under state law and may subject the violator to a fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500).